Joshua Hanna

Number 82
Shane Cockrum Collects ASCS Elite Non-Wing Score At The Devil’s Bowl Speedway



Shane Cockrum Collects ASCS Elite Non-Wing Score At The Devil’s Bowl Speedway

(Image Credit: Devil's Bowl PR)

Bryan Hulbert – MESQUITE, Texas (August 6, 2022) Collecting his second win with the ASCS Elite Non-Wing Series presented by Abilene Powder Coating, Shane Cockrum added the Johnny Suggs Classic at the Devil’s Bowl Speedway to his list of victories.

Chasing Justin Melton at the onset, the No. 11 paced the field through Lap 9 when Justin Zimmerman took the point for a moment. Rushing the top of the third and fourth turns, Zimmerman shot from third to first, but contact with the slower car of Michelle Parson entering the first turn jettisoned the No. 1 off the track.

Keeping the car upright and rolling, that left Melton to contend with Cockrum.

Pacing through slower cars, Cockrum pulled to Melton’s back bumper a couple of times before throwing the slide through the first and second turns on Lap 14. Caution a lap later for Zimmerman, who spun in the third turn, the race resumed the No. 66 holding pace over the field.

One final caution as the field raced under the white flag, the field reverted to the last fully completed lap. Pulling away on the restart, the No. 66 crossed the stripe with 1.053-seconds to spare. Taking second before the late race caution, Dalton Stevens got the job done again on the final lap. Justin Melton, in third, was followed by Paul White and Jason Howell.

The 2022 season wraps up Saturday, October 1, at Big O Speedway in Ennis, Texas.

The ASCS Elite Non-Wing Series presented by Abilene Powder Coating is owned and operated by Nathan Moore and operates under the sanction of the American Sprint Car Series. The ASCS Elite Non-Wing Series presented by Abilene Powder Coating operates under its own rules, which can be found at

Nathan can be reached at (903) 780-9934 or by email at

The 2022 season will mark the 31st year of competition for the American Sprint Car Series. Spearheaded by the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network, the ASCS Nation includes Regional Tours that encompass both wing and non-wing competition.

For other news, notes, and information on any of the tours under the ASCS banner, log onto, follow on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter (@LucasOilASCS).

Race Results:

ASCS Elite Non-Wing Series
Devil’s Bowl Speedway (Mesquite, Texas)
Saturday, August 7, 2022

Jacksonville Tool Die Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 44-Jason Howell[3]; 2. 11-Justin Melton[6]; 3. 02-Dillon Burks[7]; 4. 43-Brennon Marshall[1]; 5. 63-Chris Williams[2]; 6. 77-Joseph Kasper[4]; 7. 21K-Kobe Simpson[5]; 8. 33-Mike Merrell[8]

Texas Aeroplastics Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 21-Michelle Parson[2]; 2. 66-Shane Cockrum[3]; 3. #1-Justin Zimmerman[5]; 4. 45-Martin Edwards[6]; 5. 52-JD Fry[1]; 6. 48X-Neal Matuska[4]; 7. 48-Caden McCreary[7]; 8. 99X-Dalton Stevens[8]

M1 Fabrications Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 82-Joshua Hanna[1]; 2. 1-Paul White[3]; 3. 34-RJ Miller[4]; 4. AK47-Knick Stewart[5]; 5. 10-Bryan Debrick[7]; 6. 6-Christian Moore[2]; 7. 57-Chase Parson[6]

Top Choice Masonry A Feature 1 (20 Laps): 1. 66-Shane Cockrum[4]; 2. 99X-Dalton Stevens[21]; 3. 11-Justin Melton[1]; 4. 1-Paul White[7]; 5. 44-Jason Howell[3]; 6. #1-Justin Zimmerman[8]; 7. 34-RJ Miller[9]; 8. 45-Martin Edwards[10]; 9. 82-Joshua Hanna[6]; 10. AK47-Knick Stewart[11]; 11. 77-Joseph Kasper[16]; 12. 21-Michelle Parson[2]; 13. 10-Bryan Debrick[12]; 14. 48X-Neal Matuska[17]; 15. 43-Brennon Marshall[13]; 16. 52-JD Fry[15]; 17. 02-Dillon Burks[5]; 18. 6-Christian Moore[18]; 19. 33-Mike Merrell[20]; 20. 63-Chris Williams[14]; 21. 48-Caden McCreary[22]; 22. 21K-Kobe Simpson[19]

Submitted By: Bryan Hulbert

Back to News

Race Stats

  • Events9
  • Wins0
  • Top 50
  • Top 102

Latest Results

No recent results

All Results

Upcoming Events

Schedule TBA

Full Schedule

Latest Photos